In New Jersey, all drivers are required to carry car insurance. There are several options available to you when you are shopping for your policy. Having a good insurance policy in place can offer you the protection that you need if you are involved in a car accident. At Elmer’s Auto Body, we have been helping Garden State residents with processing your insurance claims so that you can get your needed repairs completed on your vehicles.
Auto insurance requirements in New Jersey
Click here to download the State Of New Jersey’s Everything You Wanted To Know About Auto Insurance Brochure
Under the laws of New Jersey, all vehicles must have personal injury protection, liability and uninsured and underinsured motorists protection coverage in place. At a minimum, motorists who opt for the standard automobile insurance policies must have $15,000 bodily injury coverage and $30,000 maximum per accident. The minimum coverage for property damage liability in the state is $5,000. People must also carry a minimum of $15,000 in personal injury protection. The state also requires you to have a minimum of $15,000 per person of underinsured and uninsured motorists bodily injury coverage with $30,000 per accident. You must also have at least $5,000 worth of uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage for property damage. If you suffer very serious injuries, your policy may pay up to $250,000.
The Standard policy option has a higher premium but offers more extensive coverage.
With the Standard policy, you get a minimum of:
- $15,000 of bodily injury liability (BDL) insurance per person, per accident. This coverage will pay for injuries to anyone not in your car if you cause a car crash.
- $30,000 of BDL for multiple injured people per accident.
- $5,000 of PDL per accident.
- $15,000 of PIP per person in a car accident.
- Up to $250,000 of PIP for severe or permanent injuries.
There is also a basic automobile policy available in the state, but it offers less coverage. With this policy, you will have coverage of $5,000 in property damage liability per accident. You will also have personal injury protection of $15,000 per person up to a maximum of $30,000 per accident. Finally, if you suffer very serious injuries in an accident, your basic coverage will pay up to $250,000.
The Basic policy option is the more affordable insurance package; however, it offers limited coverage, including:
- $5,000 of property damage liability (PDL) per accident. This covers damage you may have caused to someone’s property in a car crash.
- $15,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) per person, per accident. This coverage pays for injuries you suffer in a car crash.
- Up to $250,000 for very severe injuries, such as permanent brain injuries.
NOTE: Bodily injury liability (BDL) coverage is not included in the Basic policy; however, policyholders are offered the option to purchase $10,000 of BDL coverage.
Limited tort vs. full tort
When you purchase your insurance coverage, you will have the option to choose either limited tort or full tort with the standard insurance policy. If you choose the full tort option, you will be able to file a lawsuit against a negligent party for the pain and suffering that you were caused in the accident. The limited tort option doesn’t allow you to sue the negligent party for pain and suffering unless your injury was especially severe or catastrophic.
Getting help with insurance claims
If your vehicle was damaged in an accident, you will need to have it repaired. It is important for you to understand your insurance policy. Elmer’s Auto Body is able to help you to file your claim with the insurance company so that you can get the repairs that you need. Call us today to schedule your appointment.